Governing Body

Badger Hill Local Academy Council

The Academies within the Trust have Local Academy Councils, their principal remit as described in their terms of reference is to;

  • act as a critical friend to the Head Teacher
  • represent the views of the community in discussions on budget issues that relate to community engagement and activity and make recommendations to the Head Teacher
  • support the Trust’s senior management staff, deal with parental complaints pursuant to the Trust policy on parental complaints
  • support the Head Teacher in exclusion processes where appropriate

The responsibility and authority delegated to the Local Academy Councils is laid out in the Trust Scheme of Delegation available on Teesside Learning Trust website.

Members of the Council (apart from the Head Teacher) will have a 4 year term of office and can be re-elected at the end of the term.

Members of the Badger Hill Local Academy Council

Name Type of Membership Term of office start date Term of office end date or date stepped down (R)
Alec Johnson (Chair) Trustee Appointed 1 November 2016 31 October 2020
Kate Duck Parent 21 October 2015 20 October 2019
Caroline House Parent 21 October 2015 20 October 2019
Laura Crowe Head of School 25 March 2019
Sara McCallum Head Teacher 25 March 2019
Reverend Helena Harbottle Co-opted 07 November 2018 07 November 2022
Kim McCarron Staff 05 February 2019 04 February 2023

Relevant Business and Pecuniary Interests

Name Date of Declaration Details of Business Interests Declared Details of Business Interests of Immediate Members of Family
Alec Johnson 17/09/2018 1) Fire-fighter, Cleveland Fire Brigade None
Kate Duck 17/09/2018 1) Current employment: Skelton Primary School Skelton Primary School Teacher
Caroline House 18/09/2018 1) Richmond School, Areté Learning Trust
5) NUT
Sara McCallum   20/09/2018 1) Executive Head Teacher, Teesside Learning Trust
8) Line Manager of 3 Primary Head Teachers linked to TLT.
Reverend Helena Harbottle 14/10/18 1) Methodist Minister
4) The Methodist Church and Saltburn Christian Projects
Kim McCarron 01/05/19 1) Teacher at Badger Hill None
Laura Crowe 18/09/2018 1) Badger Hill Academy
5) NAHT (Union) Member

Attendance Records at Meetings 2018-2019

Member Meetings attended Out of a possible
Alec Johnson (Chair) 3 3
Kate Duck 3 3
Caroline House (Vice Chair) 3 3
Sara McCallum (Executive Head Teacher) 3 3
Laura Crowe 3 3
Rev. Helena Harbottle 2 2
Kim McCarron 2 2

Annual Reports and Accounts

Annual Report and Audited Accounts
Articles of Association
Names of Charity Trustees and Members
Funding Agreement
Academy Council Terms of Reference

More information about governance of the Teesside Learning Trust and finance documents can be found on the TLT website.

The TLT Gender Pay Gap Report can be found on the TLT website here.