A fresh start: Renaming small schools and class names

At the end of last term, as part of our pastoral restructure we tasked our students with selecting the names for our new small schools that reflected our community and values. The names that they chose were all linked to the explorer Frank Wild and his expeditions to the Antarctic.

Frank Wild was born in Skelton, Yorkshire, he was the eldest of eight sons in a family that also had three daughters. His father was a school teacher and his mother was a direct descendent of Captain James Cook. At the age of 16 in 1889, he joined the merchant navy, transferring to the Royal Navy in 1900.

Frank Wild played a significant role in several of the most important expeditions to the Antarctic.

From 1901 – 1904 he was an Able Seamen on The Discovery Expedition – Scott’s ill-fated expedition to the Antarctic.

From 1911 – 1914 he was the sledge master on the Aurora which was the ship used during The Australasian Antarctic Expedition. This expedition is today regarded as one of the greatest polar scientific expeditions of all times because of the detailed observations in magnetism, geology, biology and meteorology that were made.

From 1921 – 1922 Wild was second in command on the Quest which was the ship used during the Shackleton – Rowett Expedition. During this expedition Shackleton died and Wild became leader of the last great Antarctic expedition.

No one else was so involved and no other explorer spent so long in Antarctica than Frank Wild. He is one of only two men to have been awarded four Polar Medal each with silver clasps.

Information taken from the following link: www.coolantarctica.com

From September the Small School Structure in the Academy will be as follows:

Discovery School               

Head of School – Mr Lythgoe

Pastoral Leader – Mr Bateman

Aurora School                     

Head of School – Mr Hukin

Pastoral Leader – Miss Vodden

Quest School

Head of School – Mr Forteath

Pastoral Leader – Mrs Douglas

We have also taken this opportunity to rebrand the names of our classes. The names that were chosen all have a link to Teesside University and are as follows:

  • Athena
  • Olympia
  • Europa
  • Victoria
  • Phoenix
  • Orion
  • Platinum
  • Mercuria
  • Centuria